Windows 7 – Jump Lists

January 30, 2010 at 11:50 pm Leave a comment

The somewhat ignored but most important feature of Windows 7 from my personal perspective is the Jump Lists feature (I love Shake but after a while the fun of that can even wear off a bit). Since I have certain songs, programs and tools I use often I can “pin them” to my task bar and then they pop up as part of the Jump Lists. Let me give you an example. If I have a document I know I will be working on for the next few weeks, rather than go search for it and open it up I simply find it in the Start List (I would cursor over Word and then to the right I would see a list of my most recent documents, then right click on the right one and choose “Pin to this list”. Now since I use Word all the time I would right click on the menu item and “Pin to Task Bar”. When I’ve done this I know will see me “pinned” document by simply right clicking on the Word logo in the Task Bar and it will also appear in the ‘pinned’ section of the Start List where Word appears.  This means I never have to figure out where I put it! 

What I really loved too as a time saver is if I have IM pinned to my task bar I can right click and choose “Send an Instant Message” and easily pick the person I want and away I go.  You’ll notice frequent tasks pop up with certain applications and for example with Explorer it records your most frequent web sites you visit making linking to them even faster too.

For more info on Jump Lists just type it into the “Search Programs and Files” box in Windows 7 Start List.

Entry filed under: ToyBox.

Ustream Windows 7 – Super Size Me!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


El Calendario

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

